DFP and Facebook Header

Lewis Nominated for SFWA young player of the year award

May 4, 2021 4:18 pm Author: AFC Media Team
Lewis Nominated for SFWA young player of the year award


Lewis Ferguson has once again been nominated for the Scottish Football Writers’ Association young player of the year award. The Scottish Football Writers’ Association have announced their shortlist for the award, sponsored by Double Tree By Hilton.
Lewis was named alongside Rangers 19 year old right-back Nathan Patterson, Celtic midfielder David Turnbull, 21 and Hibernian left-back, Josh Doig, who is 18.

Aberdeen midfielder Ferguson, 21, would become just the third player to win the gong – voted for by the association’s members – two years in a row. He has continued to be a mainstay of the Dons team after lifting the trophy 12 months ago and would follow in the footsteps of Kieran Tierney and Steven Fletcher if he was chosen again.

The winner will be announced in newspapers before the end of the season.

When Lewis picked up the SFWA young player of the year award for 2019/2020 he became the first Aberdeen player to win the Football Writers’ young player prize. Eoin Jess was twice named the PFA Scotland Young Player of the Year (1990/91 and 1992/93) and Kevin McNaughton was the last young Aberdeen player to be recognised (2001/02).

And Lewis was only the tenth Aberdeen player to win a national award. Along with Jess and McNaughton, Martin Buchan (1970/71), Gordon Strachan (1979/80), Willie Miller (1983/84), and Alex McLeish (1989/90) have won the SFWA footballer of the year. The Dons’ to have won the PFA Scotland players’ player of the year are Mark McGhee (1980/81) Willie Miller (1983/84), Theo Snelders (1988/89) and Jim Bett (1989/90).